accredited institutions in south africa 2024-2025

By | October 19, 2022

accredited institutions in south africa 2024-2025

accredited institutions in south africa 2024-2025

accredited institutions in south africa 2024-2025

This page has information on accredited institutions in South Africa.

High-quality higher accredited education facilities can be found in South Africa. There are 24 public higher education institutions in the nation, and they provide a range of study options and curricula to both native and foreign students. In order to increase access to higher education, South Africa’s higher education system underwent restructuring in 2003. Due to this, South Africa today has three main categories of public higher education institutions: traditional universities, universities of technology, and comprehensive universities.

  • 11 classical universities with a focus on theoretical education, 6 comprehensive universities with a combination of academic and practical degrees and certifications, and 6 universities of technology with a strong vocational education focus can all be found in South Africa.
  • The Ministry of Higher Education and Training is responsible for higher education, technical and vocational education and training, and adult basic education and training (ABET).

The following is a list of South African universities:

Technikons/Universities of Technology

University of Technology programs result in degrees, diplomas, and certificates. Universities with a focus on technology aim to train students for particular professions. In technikons and universities of technology, courses in engineering, business, technology, design, the performing arts, and other applied fields are offered.

A National Senior Certificate, which is earned after completing 12 years of basic and secondary education or an equivalent, is the entry prerequisite for technikon/university of technology programs, while certain programs have additional requirements.

Technikon/University of Technology Qualifications-

  • National Certificate (NC): This certificate is awarded after one year of study.
  • National Higher Certificate (NHC): Requires two years of study.
  • National Diploma (NDip): Requires three years of study.
  • Bachelor of Technology Degree (B Tech): Requires four years of study.
  • Master of Technology Degree (M Tech): Requires five years of study.
  • Doctor of Technology Degree (D Tech): Requires seven years of study.

List of Technikons/Universities of Technology-

  • Cape Peninsula University of Technology
  • Central University of Technology
  • Durban University of Technology
  • Mangosuthu University of Technology
  • Tshwane University of Technology
  • Vaal University of Technology

Comprehensive Universities

  • Comprehensive universities are created when technikons and traditional institutions are combined. These schools offer degrees and programs in the conventional subjects of science and the arts in addition to the programs and degrees given by the technikons/universities of technology. In technical, university-style programs and courses, comprehensive universities lay a big emphasis on generating research.

South Africa’s Comprehensive University List

  • University of Johannesburg
  • Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
  • University of South Africa
  • University of Venda
  • University of Zululand
  • Walter Sisulu University

Traditional Universities

South Africa has had conventional universities since 1829. In order to aid students in preparing for their matriculation exams, Institution Cape Town was established as the first university in 1829. The Institution of South Africa was established in 1918, while the Institution of the Cape of Good Hope was established later in 1873 as the country’s first university to get a charter. Traditional institutions offer a wide range of undergraduate and graduate degree programs. Particularly for bachelor’s degrees, a wide variety of curricula are offered.

The National Senior Certificate, awarded upon completion of secondary schooling, serves as the prerequisite for admission to a typical university program.

South Africa’s Traditional Universities List

  • Rhodes University
  • North-West University
  • University of Cape Town
  • University of Fort Hare
  • University of the Free State
  • University of KwaZulu-Natal
  • University of Limpopo
  • University of Pretoria
  • University of Stellenbosch
  • University of the Western Cape
  • University of the Witwatersrand

Click here for teaching universities

List of accredited distance universities


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *