higher education institutions in south africa 2024-2025

By | October 13, 2022

higher education institutions in south africa 2024-2025

higher education institutions in south africa 2024-2025

higher education institutions in south africa 2024-2025

World-class higher education institutions can be found in South Africa. There are 24 public higher education institutions in the nation, and they provide a variety of programs and research choices to both domestic and foreign students. To increase access to higher education, South Africa’s higher education system underwent restructuring in 2003. Because of this, South Africa currently has three different kinds of public higher education institutions: traditional universities, universities of technology, and comprehensive universities.

South Africa is home to 11 classical universities that offer theoretically oriented degrees, six comprehensive universities that offer a mix of academic and vocational degrees and certifications, and six universities of technology that place an emphasis on vocational education.

Higher education, technical and vocational education and training, and adult basic education and training are all within the purview of the Ministry of Higher Education and Training (ABET).

The higher education institutions in South Africa are listed below:

Technikons/Universities of Technology

Programs at the University of Technology lead to degrees, diplomas, and certificates. The goal of technological universities is to prepare students for a certain career. Engineering, business, technology, design, the performing arts, and other applied areas are taught in technikons and universities of technology.

A National Senior Certificate, which is earned after completing 12 years of basic and secondary education or an equivalent, is the entry prerequisite for technikon/university of technology programs, while certain programs have additional requirements.

Technikon/University of Technology Qualifications-

  • National Certificate (NC): This certificate is awarded after one year of study.
  • National Higher Certificate (NHC): Requires two years of study.
  • National Diploma (NDip): Requires three years of study.
  • Bachelor of Technology Degree (B Tech): Requires four years of study.
  • Master of Technology Degree (M Tech): Requires five years of study.
  • Doctor of Technology Degree (D Tech): Requires seven years of study.

List of Technikons/Universities of Technology-

  • Cape Peninsula University of Technology
  • Central University of Technology
  • Durban University of Technology
  • Mangosuthu University of Technology
  • Tshwane University of Technology
  • Vaal University of Technology

Comprehensive Universities

  • The union of technikons with conventional universities produces comprehensive universities. Along with the programs and degrees offered by the technikons/universities of technology, these institutions also offer degrees and programs in the traditional fields of science and the arts. Comprehensive Universities place a strong emphasis on developing research in technical, university-style programs and courses.

South Africa’s Comprehensive University List

  • University of Johannesburg
  • Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
  • University of South Africa
  • University of Venda
  • University of Zululand
  • Walter Sisulu University

Traditional Universities

Traditional universities have existed in South Africa since 1829. University Cape Town was the first university, founded in 1829 to help students get ready for matriculation exams. The Institution of the Cape of Good Hope was formed as the nation’s first university to get a charter later in 1873, and the University of South Africa was founded in 1918. Numerous undergraduate and graduate degree programs are offered by traditional universities. There are many different degree programs available, especially at the bachelor’s level.

The National Senior Certificate, awarded upon completion of secondary schooling, serves as the prerequisite for admission to a typical university program.

South Africa’s Traditional Universities List

  • Rhodes University
  • North-West University
  • University of Cape Town
  • University of Fort Hare
  • University of the Free State
  • University of KwaZulu-Natal
  • University of Limpopo
  • University of Pretoria
  • University of Stellenbosch
  • University of the Western Cape
  • University of the Witwatersrand

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *