types of universities in south africa 2024-2025

By | November 1, 2022

types of universities in south africa 2024-2025

types of universities in south africa 2024-2025

types of universities in south africa 2024-2025

South Africa has world-class educational institutions. The country has 24 public higher education institutions that provide both domestic and international students with a variety of curricula and research opportunities. South Africa’s higher education system was reorganized in 2003 to improve access to higher education. South Africa now has three types of public higher education institutions: traditional universities, technological universities, and comprehensive universities.

South Africa has 11 classical universities that provide theoretically oriented degrees, six comprehensive universities that provide a mix of academic and vocational degrees and certifications, and six technology universities that focus on vocational education.

The Ministry of Higher Education and Training is in charge of higher education, technical and vocational education and training, and adult basic education and training (ABET).

South Africa’s Higher Education Sector

  • South Africa’s Tertiary Education sector consists of 26 state universities, 50 public technical and vocational education and training colleges (TVET), 96 registered private higher education institutions, and 29 provisionally registered private higher education institutions. Minister Nzimande stated in his 2016 Budget Speech that the Department’s budget for public higher education institutions would increase at an annual average of 9.8%, from R42 billion in 2015/16 to R55.3 billion in 2018/19, in order to produce graduates with the skills that are urgently needed to expand South Africa’s economy.
The higher education institutions in South Africa are listed below:

Technikons/Universities of Technology

University of Technology programs lead to degrees, diplomas, and certificates. The goal of technological universities is to train students for specific jobs. Engineering, business, technology, design, the performing arts, and other applied fields are taught at technikons and technology universities.

A National Senior Certificate, obtained after completing 12 years of basic and secondary education or an equivalent, is required for admission to technikon/university of technology programs, with some programs requiring additional qualifications.

Technikon/University of Technology Qualifications-

  • National Certificate (NC): This certificate is awarded after one year of study.
  • National Higher Certificate (NHC): Requires two years of study.
  • National Diploma (NDip): Requires three years of study.
  • Bachelor of Technology Degree (B Tech): Requires four years of study.
  • Master of Technology Degree (M Tech): Requires five years of study.
  • Doctor of Technology Degree (D Tech): Requires seven years of study.

List of Technikons/Universities of Technology-

  • Cape Peninsula University of Technology
  • Central University of Technology
  • Durban University of Technology
  • Mangosuthu University of Technology
  • Tshwane University of Technology
  • Vaal University of Technology

Comprehensive Universities

  • The combination of technikons and traditional universities results in comprehensive universities. Along with the programs and degrees offered by technikons/universities of technology, these institutions also offer degrees and programs in science and the arts. In technical, university-style programs and courses, comprehensive universities place a strong emphasis on developing research.

South Africa’s Comprehensive University List

  • University of Johannesburg
  • Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
  • University of South Africa
  • University of Venda
  • University of Zululand
  • Walter Sisulu University

Traditional Universities

Traditional universities have existed in South Africa since 1829. University Cape Town was the first university, founded in 1829 to help students get ready for matriculation exams. The Institution of the Cape of Good Hope was formed as the nation’s first university to get a charter later in 1873, and the University of South Africa was founded in 1918. Numerous undergraduate and graduate degree programs are offered by traditional universities. There are many different degree programs available, especially at the bachelor’s level.

The National Senior Certificate, awarded upon completion of secondary schooling, serves as the prerequisite for admission to a typical university program.

South Africa’s Traditional Universities List

  • Rhodes University
  • North-West University
  • University of Cape Town
  • University of Fort Hare
  • University of the Free State
  • University of KwaZulu-Natal
  • University of Limpopo
  • University of Pretoria
  • University of Stellenbosch
  • University of the Western Cape
  • University of the Witwatersrand

Related Links

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *